Auckland Marathon 2010

Gidday team
Another superb day at the Auckland Marathon on Sunday. It’s always inspirational to witness the marathon and every time I watch or take part in it I realise how it is the one race that can not be underestimated or faked.
A few impressions from some of our marathoners below, and then links to photos of Ron’s effort at the SingleSpeed World Champs in Rotorua, check them out.

See those of you who are keen at the Stroke n Stride on Wednesday. Also, Charles has been working on a website for the Club – a great idea – stay tuned for more soon.

Mike


CHARLES BELCHER

Marathoning, the triumph of desire over reason. Many people have told me i’m an idiot. And perhaps rightly so. But I have wanted to do a marathon since I started running in Form 3, and now i have finally done it.

The start was awesome, race day is always so exciting! And the body felt good for all of the first half, (other than a short toilet stop at about 8km which I realised I would need shortly after starting). I went through the half  at just over 1:40 spot on where I wanted to be. It was at about the 23 km that i started to feel my muscles and was worried that it was a bit early, but something soon took my mind off that. My bowel! For the next 3km i was desperate to find the toilets, at a couple of points I thought I wasn’t going to make but, but just in tim
e the Okahu bay drinks station brought relief… at that point I wasn’t worried i chewed up a few minuutes sitting down 🙂 Then it was back on the road and back into a good pace still under 5minute k’s but as I approached the turn the pain started to mount and by mission bay on the return it was survival mode. I managed to keep putting one leg in front of the other, (slower and slower) and only walking at drink stations. The last Km i thought I would be able to pick up the pace for a strong finish, but my muscles had other ideas and started to cramp (quads, hammies and calves) just after we had had a moments silence passing Todd’s “resting spot”. Hearing everyone cheer my name in the finishing chute was an experience I won’t forget. Months of t
raining, injuries, sacrifice and pain was all worth it for that moment.

It was an amazing experience, one I am so stoked to have done and can’t wait for next time! I couldn’t have done it with out the support crew especially Toddy C, Mike Hale, Ben Harper, Sam Thom, and Dave Robbo. There support before race day and during got me to the finish. Things are so much better when done together, so thanks boys. Also big thanks to Dan Lees, who ran with me, we helped each other, but I feel he helped me more than I him.

Lessons learnt: I guess I learnt you can’t underestimate the marathon. It is a beast. You need to do those long runs, which I was perhaps a little short on. Its all mental toughness in the end and the race doesn’t start until St Heliers (10km to go). Other than that I don’t think I would have raced differently I think I paced myself well, just didn’t have the legs in the end. But now I know what to expect I can’t wait till next time. I really want to run a negative split ;-).

If you haven’t done one start training now it is an amazing time, so much fun. Painful yes, idiotic yes, but awesome!

If you want to win something, run 100 meters. If you want to experience something, run a marathon – Zatopek

Chuck


WILL THOMPSON

I got up at 4 on Sunday morning to head to the start of the Marathon
surprisingly awake.
The plan was to aim, rather ambitiously, for about 3:15. So I headed
out at what felt like a fairly sedate pace around the North Shore,
aiming for 90-95 mins for the first half. The first 10k went really
quick and I got down a leppin and plenty of fluids…feeling good.
Headed over the bridge which was pretty cool, definitely a highlight,
sun was just about getting up and sweet views across the harbour. On
the way down I saw a few of the fast guys looping round underneath.
Still felt pretty solid at the half. Went through in about 93 minutes
I think.

Headin out along the waterfront I was beginning to feel the legs and
my pace slowed a notch. By about Mission Bay on the way out it really
started to hit. Legs were starting to ache. The breathing was sweet
though. The main issue was an overwhelming feeling of nausea…maybe
the leppin and powerade was catching up with me cos up until that
point I felt the nutrition was goin pretty well. Anyway by the end of
Kohi I was reduced to a walk at times…not for long but enough to
dampen the spirits!

From the turn on I was absolutely cooked. The last 10k was
nasty…keeping up a plod as much as I could. Got passed by a lot of
people! It was awesome to have a few of the guys on bikes pushing me
on. With about three k to go I felt really bad, had a stop for a
moment to let the dizzy spell past…I hadn’t reached the 40.5km
yet…had to get past Todd! Charlie B came up then and we ran together
for a bit.

I think with a k and a half to go I could smell the finish, it gave me
a good boost and I managed to push through to the line, the most
beautiful sight in the world. Crossed the line in 3:40. No doubt the
hardest race I’ve ever done in my life! When you’re that buggered you
get a bit emotional!

I think my main issue was a lack of consistent training when it came
down to it. I’d done a few long runs but not really enough and the
midweek running was a bit scatchy at times. My body definitely wasn’t
used to the agony post three hours. Also, for my fitness the first
half was a bit too quick…but I’ll learn. Glad to have finished and
if I do another…which if I’m honest I’ll have to do now…I’ll have
a rugged experience to guide my efforts! The Marathon is definitely a
race to be respected!

Also was pretty humbled to see all the shapes and sizes completing the
Marathon…and jogging effortlessly past me on the way back…
Incredible what people can achieve with a little commitment and
motivation! Respect.

Thanks heaps guys for your cheers out on the course…definitely made
a difference! Until next race…

Will

Leave a Reply

