Winning the Lottery

On a dark night in November of last year, I sat alone in my room, surfing the net…..no, not that kind of surfing.  As the obsessive compulsive that I am, I was surfing all the triathlon, cycling sites, while simultaneously following about a 100 twitter feeds on the same topics.  Now I can’t remember whether it was a tweet or what, but I somehow found myself on the Ironman site, reading about the annual lottery of only 200 spots worldwide for entry into the 2011 Ford Ironman Championships in Kona (you know spots for those slugs who just can’t quite manage to do sub-1o Imans).

So a few clicks of the mouse, and 50 bucks later, I had entered the lottery.  And I can’t say, I have thought about it or remembered doing it since….As I said, I’m OCD, I do stuff like that all the time, and also quickly forget about it.

Now to put things into perspective, I completed the Taupo Half in December, and then managed to go 3 months of injuries.  I didn’t even sign up for the 2012 Taupo Ironman, as I thought I’d focus on some other things this year…that was until at 6:55am this past Saturday, I checked my emails (I know, I’m a loser checking emails at that time on a Saturday)….and here’s what I saw!!!!

Yes, I’m a tinny git!

Yes, I’m going to do it!

Yes, I’m going to need all the help I can get!

So gentlemen, all advice is welcome, and laughs are free!

Leave a Reply

